* Astronomy

Members Login
Post Info TOPIC: Brian Greene


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Brian Greene
Permalink  
 


Dr. Brian Greene (born February 9, 1963, New-York), is a physicist and one of the world's foremost string theorists. Since 2003 he has been a professor at Columbia University.

Brian Greene’s book, The Fabric of the Cosmos, reveals him to be a scientific romantic in the tradition of Albert Einstein and Stephen Hawking.

"God does not play dice with the universe;" Einstein famously quipped, disdaining the vision of irreducible uncertainty enshrined in the equations of quantum mechanics. When we search for a final theory, Hawking proclaimed in the stirring conclusion of A Brief History of Time, we seek to glimpse nothing less than the mind of God.

Greene writes in a similarly optimistic spirit, hoping to convince us that his field of physics (M-theory, previously known as superstring theory) has the potential to reveal the ultimate secrets of nature and to unify our best theory of the very large (relativity) with our most successful theory of the very small (quantum mechanics).

Listen to The Fabric of the Cosmos. (realplayer):

Read more

Brian Greene interview on David Letterman

View (.mov)

__________________
«First  <  1 2 | Page of 2  sorted by
Quick Reply

Please log in to post quick replies.



Create your own FREE Forum
Report Abuse
Powered by ActiveBoard