* Astronomy

Members Login
Post Info TOPIC: ExoMars mission


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
RE: ExoMars mission
Permalink  
 


Final two ExoMars landing sites chosen

Two ancient sites on Mars that hosted an abundance of water in the planet's early history have been recommended as the final candidates for the landing site of the 2020 ExoMars rover and surface science platform: Oxia Planum and Mawrth Vallis.
Read more



__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Schiaparelli lander
Permalink  
 


Images reveal crashed Mars lander

The European Space Agency has tried hard to avoid using the words "crash" or "failure" about its attempted Mars landing but the fate of the spacecraft is cruelly exposed in new pictures.
The Schiaparelli lander is seen in greater detail than ever before, lying on the Martian surface.

Read more



__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
RE: ExoMars mission
Permalink  
 


Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter views Schiaparelli landing site

NASA's Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter has identified new markings on the surface of the Red Planet that are believed to be related to ESA's ExoMars Schiaparelli entry, descent and landing technology demonstrator module.
Schiaparelli entered the martian atmosphere at 14:42 GMT on 19 October for its 6-minute descent to the surface, but contact was lost shortly before expected touchdown. Data recorded by its mothership, the Trace Gas Orbiter, are currently being analysed to understand what happened during the descent sequence.

Read more



__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Schiaparelli Mars probe
Permalink  
 


Schiaparelli: Mars probe 'crash site identified'

The gouge in the ground likely made by Europe's Schiaparelli probe as it hit the surface of Mars on Wednesday has been imaged by an American satellite.
The Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter (MRO) has identified a large dark patch in the robot's targeted landing zone consistent with a high-velocity impact.
Schiaparelli is widely thought to have crashed and been destroyed.

Read more



__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
RE: ExoMars mission
Permalink  
 


Schiaparelli Mars probe's parachute 'jettisoned too early'

Europe's Schiaparelli lander did not behave as expected as it headed down to the surface of Mars on Wednesday.
Telemetry data recovered from the probe during its descent indicates that its parachute was jettisoned too early.
The rockets it was supposed to use to bring itself to a standstill just above the ground also appeared to fire for too short a time.

Read more



__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Schiaparelli Mars lander
Permalink  
 


Where is European Schiaparelli Mars lander?

There are growing fears that a European probe which attempted to land on Mars on Wednesday has been lost. Tracking of the Schiaparelli robot's radio signals was dropped less than a minute before it was expected to touch down on the Red Planet's surface.
Read more



__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
RE: ExoMars mission
Permalink  
 


No signal from European Schiaparelli Mars lander

The European Space Agency is still waiting for confirmation that its Schiaparelli probe has landed on Mars.
The saucer-shaped robot was supposed to have touched down on the Red Planet just before 1500 GMT (1600 BST).
A radio transmission that should have allowed scientists to follow the probe to the surface was not received.

Read more 



__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Schiaparelli probe
Permalink  
 


European Schiaparelli probe on target for Mars landing

Europe's Schiaparelli spacecraft is on course to land on Mars.
The 577kg probe separated successfully from its mothership on Sunday at 14:42 GMT (15:42 BST; 16:42 CEST).

Read more



__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
RE: ExoMars mission
Permalink  
 


ExoMars updates

14 October: TGO final trajectory manoeuvre (08:45 GMT)
16 October: Separation of Schiaparelli from TGO at 14:42 GMT / 16:42 CEST 
17 October: TGO orbit-raising manoeuvre at 02:42 GMT / 04:42 CEST
19 October: TGO Mars orbit insertion and Schiaparelli entry, descent and landing on Mars (atmospheric entry expected 14:42 GMT / 16:42 CEST, landing 14:48 GMT / 16:48 CEST)
20 October: Update on Schiaparelli status; descent images expected 
21+ October: Schiaparelli status reports until end of mission

Read more



__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 

ExoMars 2016 arrives at destination

The first mission of the ExoMars programme, launched successfully on the 14th of March this year, is about to arrive at Mars. ExoMars 2016 consists of two components: the Trace Gas Orbiter (TGO) and the Entry, descent and landing Demonstrator Module (EDM), also known as Schiaparelli. The main objectives of this mission are to search for atmospheric trace gases and to test key technologies in preparation for ESA's contribution to subsequent missions to Mars.
Read more



__________________
1 2 37  >  Last»  | Page of 7  sorted by
Quick Reply

Please log in to post quick replies.



Create your own FREE Forum
Report Abuse
Powered by ActiveBoard