* Astronomy

Members Login
Post Info
TOPIC: Ariane5 ES-ATV


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
RE: Ariane5 ES-ATV
Permalink  
 


Video showing the destructive re-entry of Jules Verne ATV at the end of a successful mission to the International Space Station. The re-entry took place over an uninhabited area of the Pacific Ocean after two deorbit burns.

See more


__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 

ATV re-entry: First pictures
 
First image Jules Verne ATV re-entry
First images of Jules Verne ATV re-entry over the Pacific Ocean

Read more 


__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 

First Picture of Jules Verne Spacecraft Re-Entry Destruction
Taken from a DC-8, it shows the moment in which it starts to break at 9:43AM, just before falling into the Pacific Ocean.

Attachments
__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 

Europe's first Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV) Jules Verne successfully completed its six-month ISS logistics mission today with its controlled destructive re-entry over a completely uninhabited area of the South Pacific. Following a final deorbit burn at 14:58 CEST which slowed its velocity by 70 m/s, the ATV entered the upper atmosphere at an altitude of 120 km at 15:31 CEST. It broke up at an altitude of 75 km with the remaining fragments falling into the Pacific some 12 minutes later.

Read more 

__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 

Freighter starts dive manoeuvres
Europe's biggest, most sophisticated spaceship is about to bring its six-month mission to an end by plunging into the Pacific in a ball of flames.

Source

__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 

At 13:30 UT, 29th September the Jules Verne cargo ship will re-enter the Earth's atmosphere over the south Pacific Ocean.

Re-entry  Timeline

    * First burn planned for 10:00 UT (12:00 CEST)
    * Second burn planned at 12:58 UT (14:58 CEST) will bring ATV to 120km altitude
    * Impact is foreseen for 13:43 UT (15:43 CEST)
    * First report (via satphone) from the airborne observation team expected +/- 14:00 UT (16:00 CEST)


Source 

__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 

Europe's biggest, most sophisticated spaceship is about to bring its six-month mission to an end by plunging into the Pacific in a ball of flames.

Final orbits (Esa)


Source

__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 

Since undocking from the station Sept. 5, Jules Verne is preparing for its final voyage: a crash landing in Earth's atmosphere. The event will create a fireball in the sky as the vehicle breaks up over the South Pacific Ocean. NASA plans to monitor the crash from the air.

Read more

__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 

Replay undocking Jules Verne ATV
The view from the International Space Station as Europes first Automated Transfer Vehicle, Jules Verne, retreats away from the orbital outpost following undocking.

Read more

__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 

At the end of a flawless six-month mission, Jules Verne, Europes first Automated Transfer Vehicle, undocked from the International Space Station today at 23:29 hours CEST. The ATV has now embarked on the last leg of its journey in space, which will end with a controlled destructive re-entry into the Earths atmosphere on 29 September.

Read more

__________________
«First  <  1 2 3 4 58  >  Last»  | Page of 8  sorted by
Quick Reply

Please log in to post quick replies.



Create your own FREE Forum
Report Abuse
Powered by ActiveBoard