* Astronomy

Members Login
Post Info
TOPIC: Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
RE: Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter
Permalink  
 




__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 





__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 

NASA has successfully steered an empty rocket hull into the moons south pole in a search for hidden ice.
Read more

__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 

NASA probe hits moon south pole looking for water

NASA's Lunar Crater Observation and Sensing Satellite (LCROSS) mission successfully slammed into the moon's south pole at nearly 6,000 miles-per-hour Friday morning, sending up a plume of lunar dust with twin impacts.
Read more

Animated Movie

__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
LCROSS Lunar Impact
Permalink  
 


The SLOOH telescope will provide free LIVE Telescope Feeds of the LCROSS Lunar Impacts on the 9th October, 2009.

The LIVE Feeds for the LCROSS Impacts will commence approximately one hour prior to the impacts at around 10:30 UTC (6:30 AM Eastern, 3:30 AM Pacific) on 09 October, 2009. Bob Berman will be going live on SLOOH Radio starting at 11:00 UTC (7:00 AM Eastern, 4:00 AM Pacific).
Read more

__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
LCROSS Mission
Permalink  
 


The impacts are scheduled for 11:31:19 UTC (Centaur rocket body) and 11:35:45 UTC (LCROSS).

__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Thermoteknix camera
Permalink  
 


The world's first thermal images of the dark side of the moon have been unveiled.
The pictures were captured by the Thermoteknix camera, a specialist thermal camera as part of a Nasa mission to search for the presence of water on the moon.
It is the first time a space craft has travelled to the far side of the moon with a thermal imaging camera.

Read more

Thermoteknix is travelling to the moon with NASAs LCROSS mission (June 2009) to search for the presence of water. LCROSS is the Lunar Crater Observation and Sensing Satellite NASA mission.

Read more

Images Courtesy NASA, Ames

Attachments
__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
RE: Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter
Permalink  
 


Southern Arizona Telescopes Will Point at Lunar Impact Early Friday
Astronomers at the some of the best ground-based telescopes in southern Arizona plan to observe two lunar impacts at 4:30 a.m. and 4:34 a.m. Arizona time Friday, Oct. 9.

Read more

__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 

A controversial NASA mission to send a missile into the surface of the moon is set to be completed this week.
Read more

Ed ~ a silly article, but it highlights a point that a minority (hopefully) of people oppose the idea. Whether this is a media generated idea, a viral story or a real internet cause, i am not sure.

__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 

An approximately 1.5 hour Live NASA TV Broadcast is planned for the LCROSS impacts starting at 6:15 a.m. EDT/3:15 a.m. PDT, Oct. 9, on NASA TV and www.nasa.gov/ntv.
Read more

Ed ~ There is an embedded NASA TV screen on this sites control bar

__________________
«First  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 714  >  Last»  | Page of 14  sorted by
Quick Reply

Please log in to post quick replies.



Create your own FREE Forum
Report Abuse
Powered by ActiveBoard