* Astronomy

Members Login
Post Info TOPIC: Celestis Pioneer Flight


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
RE: Celestis Pioneer Flight
Permalink  
 


Students launch rocket at Spaceport America

As the 20-foot, 1,100-pound rocket fired gracefully skyward against the backdrop of a New Mexico sunrise Tuesday, something struck a chord in the heart of 19-year-old Quang Tran.
A Vietnam native who's studying computer science at New Mexico Highlands University, Tran and his classmates were among the roughly 100 college and high school students from around the state who had science projects aboard the rocket. Going into the launch, Tran said, he was excited but didn't realise how much the event would affect him.

Read more

__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
The Celestis 09 Pioneer Flight
Permalink  
 


The Celestis 09 Pioneer Flight is scheduled to launch from Spaceport America, near Las Cruces, New Mexico, at 12:00 GMT (6:00 am MDT (8:00 am EDT, 5:00 am PDT), May 4, 2010.

__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Celestis Pioneer Flight
Permalink  
 


A Dover woman's dying wish that her ashes should be sent into space looks set to be fulfilled.
Audrey Bates, who died in March 2009, aged 75, was fascinated with the US moon landings of the 1960s.
Her husband, Geoff, 81, has paid for her remains to be launched into space from New Mexico in the US on 1 May.

Read more

__________________
Page 1 of 1  sorted by
Quick Reply

Please log in to post quick replies.



Create your own FREE Forum
Report Abuse
Powered by ActiveBoard