* Astronomy

Members Login
Post Info
TOPIC: Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
RE: Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter
Permalink  
 


Nasa scientists are preparing to launch a space mission from Cape Canaveral carrying a missile that will fire a hole deep in the surface of the moon.
The aim is to see whether any traces of water will be revealed by the disruption caused to the planet's surface. Nasa will analyse the space cloud caused by the explosion for any sign of water or vapour.
Scientists expect the impact to blast out a huge cloud of dust, gas and vaporised water ice at least 6 miles high - making it visible from Earth.


Read more 


__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 



__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 



__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 

The ULA Atlas 5 rocket (AV-020) with the Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter (LRO) and Lunar Crater Observation and Sensing Satellite (LCROSS) is still on schedule to launch from the Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida, at 21:12 GMT, 18th June, 2009.

__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 

NASA Sets New Launch Dates for Space Shuttle, LRO and LCROSS
NASA managers have scheduled the next launch attempt of space shuttle Endeavour's STS-127 mission for 09:40 GMT (5:40 a.m. EDT) on Wednesday, June 17.
As a result, the Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter, or LRO, and Lunar Crater Observation and Sensing Satellite, or LCROSS, are set to lift off together aboard an Atlas V rocket on Thursday, June 18. There are three launch opportunities from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida: 21:12 GMT (5:12 p.m. EDT), 21:22 GMT (5:22 p.m. EDT) and 21:32 GMT (5:32 p.m. EDT)

Source


__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 

A robot explorer will soar into space next week on a kamikaze mission to punch a hole in the moon. The aim is to learn whether ice lurks where the sun never shines, on the floor of the moon's polar craters.
Travelling at 2.5 kilometres a second, the empty two-tonne upper stage of the rocket that launched the probe will crash first, sending debris - rock, soil and, perhaps, long-frozen ice - at least 10 kilometres high, possibly high enough to be visible from Earth.
NASA estimates the plume may be visible in telescopes as small as 24 to 30 centimetres, owned by many amateur astronomers.

Read more

__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 

NASA Sets Lunar Spacecraft Launch Coverage Events
NASA's Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter, or LRO, and Lunar Crater Observation and Sensing Satellite, or LCROSS, spacecraft are set to launch together to the moon aboard an Atlas V rocket on June 17.

Read more

__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 





__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 





__________________


L

Posts: 131433
Date:
Permalink  
 

Two new missions to the moon are currently set to lift off in mid-June with the ultimate goal of returning humans to the lunar surface. The first, the Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter, will map the moon's surface for minerals and future landing sites; the other, known by the acronym LCROSS, will crash into the moon to determine if frozen water exists there.

Read more

__________________
«First  <  110 11 12 13 14  >  Last»  | Page of 14  sorted by
Quick Reply

Please log in to post quick replies.



Create your own FREE Forum
Report Abuse
Powered by ActiveBoard